Thursday, April 23, 2009

Oregon Legislature Gets It Right.

The Oregon State Legislature recently passed a bill that increases the Personal Injury Protection wage loss minimum coverage from $1,250 per month to $3,000 per month. This is the first increase in over 20 years. Thus, the Oregon minimum PIP coverage will be 70% of your lost wages, up to a maximum amount of $3,000 per month. Governor Kulongoski signed the bill into law just a few short days ago. The new law will take effect January 1, 2010.

This is a great step forward. As many of you already know, we are car accident attorneys, and deal daily with multiple insurance carriers on behalf of injured parties. It is painful to see a client so injured that he or she cannot work, yet their PIP policy does not provide adequate coverage to allow them to continue paying their bills and keep food on the table. Unfortunately, many have lost their homes as a result. This new law is definitely a step in the right direction.

We want to thank the hard working members of the Legislature, as well as folks in the Oregon Trial Lawyers Association and the hardworking citizens of Oregon who made their voices heard.

-Tim Williams

No comments: